Local Planning Panel (LPP)


The NSW Government has introduced changes to make local planning panels (LPPs), mandatory for all councils in Greater Sydney and Wollongong.

The Local Planning Panel assess development applications (DA’s) which involve:

  • (i) A potential conflict of interest (including development where the applicant or land owner is that Council, Councillor, Council planning staff member or member or parliament) and/or
  • (ii) Contentious development that has received more than 10 unique submissions and/or
  • (iii) Variations to a development standard imposed by an environmental planning instrument by more than 10% and/or
  • (iv) Sensitive development (a) Designated development (b) Development to which State Environment Planning Policy No 65 - Design Quality of Residential Apartment Development applies and is 4 or more storeys in height (c) Development involving the demolition of a heritage item (d) Development for licenced premises (e) Development for the purpose of sex services premises and restricted premises (f) Development applications for which the developer has offered to enter into a planning agreement.

The development applications referred to will only be considered by the LPP and Council in circumstances where the Sydney Central City Planning Panel is not the determining authority.

After the panel has considered submissions made by interested parties, the panel will make a determination on the application.


The Panel comprises a chair chosen by the Minister of Planning, two industry experts and a community representative. The Chair and experts for any given meeting will be selected from the following:

 Panel Member


 Julie Walsh


 Richard Pearson

Alternate Chair

 Garry Fielding

Alternate Chair

 Heather Warton


 Penny Holloway


 Marcia Doheny


 Alf Lester


 Richard Thorp AM


 Scott Barwick                 Expert
Damian Kelly Community Representative (Central Ward) 
Dr Morgan Wood  Community Representative (North Ward) 
Alison Turner  Community Representative (East Ward) 
Rohan Toner Community Representative (West Ward) 


Code of Conduct for Planning Panel Members(PDF, 221KB)


Meeting Dates

The Local Planning Panel will meet on the third Wednesday of each month on the following dates in 2021.

  • 21 April, 2021
  • 19 May, 2021
  • 16 June, 2021
  • 21 July, 2021
  • 18 August, 2021
  • 15 September, 2021
  • 20 October, 2021
  • 17 November, 2021
  • 15 December, 2021