Main Customer Service Centre

Development Applications may only be lodged direct with the NSW Planning Portal. It will no longer be possible to lodge Development Applications direct with Council. 

Council is now 'cashless' - As per Council’s exhibited Fees and Charges effective from 1 July 2022, The Hills Shire Council is ‘cashless’.   This means that Council no longer accept payments by cash or by cheque at our administration centre and other facilities including libraries. More information and options available here.


Council’s telephone service remains open from 8:00am – 4:30pm Monday – Friday for calls on +61 2 9843 0555

Make an Online Enquiry

Council's Customer Service Counter is open Monday - Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm.

We are located at 3 Columbia Court, Norwest NSW 2153 

Opening Hours: Monday to Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm (excluding Public Holidays)

Main Switchboard and Customer Contact Centre: +61 2 9843 0555

National Relay Service (TTY phone) The National Relay Service is a telephone service for hearing impaired and deaf people. Callers who are deaf, have a hearing or speech impediment may call The Hills Shire Council by dialling 8850 5622.

Postal Address: PO Box 7064 Norwest 2153

Customer Service

The Customer Service Centre located in the Administration Centre is the one-stop-shop for all of Council’s services.

Council’s Customer Service Team works to promote efficient services to the local and wider community. Our professional and friendly staff are multi-skilled and make every effort to resolve a broad range of enquires.

Customer service staff will assist you to find the information you need, or to transact your business.

This includes:

  • Customer requests, compliments or complaints
  • Development application lodgement
  • Permits and Licences
  • Payments
  • Property Information
  • Changes of address
  • Council business papers
  • To book a Justice of the Peace service, click here.
  • File access and retrieval
  • Community Information
  • Recreation
  • Rates payments and enquiries
  • Companion Animal Registration
  • Tree preservation
  • Waste Services

Payments can be made at the Customer Service Centre using Eftpos, Visa and Mastercard.