The Miles Franklin Award 2023

Awarded for the “Novel of the year of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.”

The winner Chai Time at Cinnamon Gardens by Shankari Chandran was announced at an awards ceremony in Sydney on July 25th, 2023.

Shortlist: Chai Time at Cinnamon Gardens by Shankari Chandran
Shortlist: Hopeless Kingdom by Kgshak Akec
Shortlist: Limberlost by Robbie Arnott
Shortlist: Cold Enough for Snow by Jessica Au
Shortlist: The Lovers by Yumna Kassab
Shortlist: Iris by Fiona Kelly McGregor
Longlist: Enclave by Claire G. Coleman
Longlist: Losing Face by George Haddad
Longlist: Forty Nights by Pirooz Jafari
Longlist: Madukka: The River Serpent by Julie Janson
Longlist: Waypoints by Adam Ouston