Councillor Tony Hay OAM

Clr A J Hay OAM - Central Ward

Political Affiliation: Australian Labor Party

Contact Details:


The Shire’s only pool, Waves, is undergoing a significant renewal project. Due for completion in 2022 it has reached a significant milestone, with all of the below ground work now completed and the above ground works beginning. Residents are enjoying being able to walk around the perimeter of the site and see how the new centre is taking shape as work progresses – the best view of construction is from the footpath above the rose garden on Roxborough Park Road.

The Roxborough Park rose garden has also been earmarked for upgrades, with more than $300,000 dedicated to improved irrigation, pathways, garden bed edging and a new rotunda. Once completed, the new Waves Fitness and Aquatic Centre and adjacent rose garden will become a highly valued and sought-after active and passive recreation space for both residents and visitors to our Shire.

Renovations to the Baulkham Hills Library last year have created a space that is much loved and well-used by our residents. Following this, Castle Hill Library will close temporarily to receive its own renovations that will include the installation of a new lift, new carpeting, painting and refurbishing the customer service area. The library will reopen on April 20 and I encourage members to use this time to explore the library’s online services, or sign up for the ‘stay home and read’ service for seniors.

I would finally like to acknowledge the service of Councillor Robyn Preston, who will be resigning from her role on The Hills Shire Council as a requirement of being elected as the State Member for Hawkesbury. Robyn was elected to Council in 2008 and has served the Hills with enthusiasm and dedication during that time, including serving as Deputy Mayor during 2016-17. She brings a wealth of experience in understanding the needs of a community to her role as a member of Parliament and I’m certain she will have the opportunity to expand on her advocacy for the people of the Hawkesbury electorate.