Elections & Referendums

NSW Government Elections have been postponed until 4 December, 2021

Election Image 4 December 2021.jpg
The NSW Government announced a new date for the local government elections has been set for Saturday 4 December, 2021.

The decision has been made after extensive consultation with and on advice from the NSW Electoral Commission and NSW Health to the COVID-19 situation. Read more here.

To register to vote, check or update your enrolment details, visit the NSW Electoral Commission's website.

To receive a reminder to vote in the upcoming election, click here.

Electoral Map

Voting Locations (information to come).

New Ward Boundaries For September Council Elections

At the meeting of Council on 12 November 2019 Council adopted changes to Ward boundaries because the subdivision of Wards within a local government area must consist of approximately equal numbers of voters. When required these boundaries are altered as populations within areas change.

The ward maps available below include the new ward boundary information and apply for the next Council elections, to be held on 4 September, 2021.

Any further enquires should be directed to publicofficer@thehills.nsw.gov.au

Check which ward you live in

This element requires javascript to be enabled.

Please wait while we load your map...


Ward Boundaries Full Map(PDF, 558KB)

North Ward Map (adopted by Council 12 November 2019)(PDF, 1MB)

Central Ward Map (adopted by Council 12 November 2019)(PDF, 2MB)

East Ward Map (adopted by Council 12 November 2019)(PDF, 2MB)

West Ward Map (adopted by Council 12 November 2019)(PDF, 2MB)

Work at the 2021 Local Government Elections

Work Election 2021.jpg

Expressions of interest are now open to work at the elections in December. Working at an election is a great way for members of the community to earn money, learn new skills and deliver democracy by helping people to have their say.

There are positions available during the election period and on election day itself. To apply to work and for more information including position descriptions and pay rates, click here.

The Hills Shire Council West Ward By-Election

The Hills Shire Council by-election was held on Saturday 28 July 2018 to elect one candidate for the West Ward of Council. The NSW Electoral Commission conducted the By-election on behalf of The Hills Shire Council.

Results of the By-election


The Hills Shire Council West Ward By-Election Declaration of Election(PDF, 92KB)

Completed Ballot Paper Count Status, First Preference Votes and Distribution of Preferences Reports are available on the NSW Electoral Commission website.

2017 Election Results

The Local Government elections were held on Saturday 9 September, 2017.

On Friday 15 September 2017, the Returning Officer for the election of The Hills Shire Councillors officially declared the following person elected as Mayor until the next ordinary election of the Council (scheduled for September 2020):

Michelle Byrne has been elected as Mayor

On Saturday 16 September 2017, the Returning Officer for the election of The Hills Shire Councillors officially declared the following persons elected as Councillors until the next ordinary election of the Council (scheduled for September 2020)

Central Ward

  • Elizabeth Russo
  • Frank De Masi
  • Tony Hay OAM


East Ward

  • Alan Haselden
  • Samuel Uno
  • Ryan Tracey


North Ward

  • Robyn Preston
  • Peter Gangemi
  • Brooke Collins OAM

West Ward

  • Mike Thomas
  • Raymond Harty OAM (resigned effective 1 May, 2018)
  • Reena Jethi

About Council Elections and Wards

Every four years the residents and ratepayers of The Hills Shire elect 12 Councillors and the Mayor. The last election of Councillors for The Hills Shire Council was held on Saturday, 9 September 2017.

Prior to 2017 the Councillors elected the Mayor and Deputy Mayor on an annual basis. However, following a constitutional referendum in 2012 to determine the method of election of the Mayor, electors now cast a vote on who should be elected as Mayor for the full four year term.

Traditionally, the twelve Councillors elected to The Hills Shire Council, represent a Ward. Three Councillors are elected to each Ward (Central, North, East and West).

Prior to the proclamation dated 12 May 2016, whereby that part of the then Hills Shire Council below the M2 was moved to the City of Parramatta, the Hills Shire was divided into four wards. The proclamation removed all wards. Council resolved on 11 October 2016 to re-establish four wards after approval was received from the Department of Premier and Cabinet. Reinstatement of the four (4) Ward structure (Central, East, North and West) within The Hills Shire Council was gazetted on Tuesday 24 January 2017, effective immediately.

The 2012 Constitutional Referendum

The Constitutional Referendum conducted in conjunction with the elections on 8 September, 2012 with the following question:

Do you favour the election of the mayor by electors for a four year term which will necessarily increases the number of Councillors by 1?

favoured the YES case:

YES 49,018
NO 43,702
TOTAL 92,720
TOTAL 100,675

Therefore from September 2017 Council's Mayor is elected by the people rather than by fellow Councillors and there will be 13 Councillors on Council.