Council Elections & Referendums

Local Council Elections

Every four years the residents and ratepayers of The Hills Shire elect 12 Councillors. The last election of Councillors for The Hills Shire Council was held on Saturday, 8 September 2012.

The next ordinary election was originally scheduled to be held on 10 September, 2016 but, following the State Government’s decision to amalgamate some Council’s or to amend boundaries, those affected Councils, including The Hills Shire Council, has had elections deferred until 9 September 2017.

Currently, the Councillors elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor on an annual basis. However, following a constitutional referendum in 2012 to determine the method of election of the Mayor, electors will cast a vote on who should be elected as Mayor for a three year term at the 2017 election and four year terms in subsequent elections.

Traditionally, the twelve Councillors elected to The Hills Shire Council, represent a Ward. Three Councillors are elected to each Ward (Central, North, East and West). Prior to the proclamation dated 12 May 2016, whereby that part of the then Hills Shire Council below the M2 was moved to the City of Parramatta, the Hills Shire was divided into four wards. The proclamation removed all wards.

Council resolved on 11 October 2016 to re-establish four wards after approval was received from the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Reinstatement of the four (4) Ward structure (Central, East, North and West) within The Hills Shire Council was gazetted on Tuesday 24 January 2017, effective immediately.

Whilst the reinstatement of Boundaries has been enacted, all eleven (11) Councillors at present will continue to represent all residents of The Hills Shire until the proposed Local Government Election scheduled for 9 September 2017.

Voting is compulsory for all residents over the age of 18.

Anyone can stand for election as a Councillor. The candidate must be nominated by at least two other people in the community. The Local Government Act, 1993 makes voting compulsory in Local Government elections. As outlined in Section 266 of the Act, you are entitled to vote in Local Government elections if:

  • You are a resident of a Council ward
  • You are not a resident of a Council ward but own rateable land in a Council Ward
  • You are an occupier or a rate paying lessee of rateable land in a Council Ward
  • You are registered on the Electoral Roll
  • You must be on the Electoral Roll in order to vote.

    The NSW Electoral Commission conducted local council elections for some Council’s on Saturday 10 September, 2016. For all key information about those elections and the Council’s involved please visit


    Council Elections 2012

    The Local Government elections were held on Saturday 8 September, 2012.


    Council Election Results

    On Monday 17 September 2012, the Returning Officer for the election of The Hills Shire Councillors officially declared the following persons elected as Councillors until the next ordinary election of the Council (scheduled for September 2017):

    Central Ward - Clr Yvonne Keane, Clr Dr Jeff Lowe, Clr Tony Hay OAM

    East Ward - Clr Andrew Jefferies, Clr Ryan Tracey, Clr Alan Haselden

    North Ward - Clr Robyn Preston, Clr Peter Gangemi, Clr Mark Taylor

    West Ward - Clr Dr Michelle Byrne - Adjunct Professor, Clr Raymond Harty OAM, Clr Mike Thomas

    The Constitutional Referendum

    The Constitutional Referendum conducted in conjunction with the elections on 8 September with the following question:

    Do you favour the election of the mayor by electors for a four year term which will necessarily increases the number of Councillors by 1?

    favoured the YES case:

    YES 49,018
    NO 43,702
    TOTAL 92,720
    INFORMAL 7955
    TOTAL 100,675


    Therefore from September 2016 Council will have its Mayor elected by the people rather than by fellow Councillors and there will be 13 Councillors on Council.